Board of Directors

Executive Directors

S.C. Harris, 54 l Group Chief Executive (middle)

Appointed: November 2008

Committees: Nomination and Executive (Chairman)

Qualifications: Chartered Engineer, graduated from Cambridge University, Masters degree in business administration from the University of Chicago, Booth School of Business.

Experience: Started his career in engineering with Courtaulds plc then moved to the USA to join APV Inc from 1984 until 1995, where he held several senior management positions. He was appointed to the Board of Powell Duffryn plc as an executive director in 1995 and then went on to join Spectris plc as an executive director from 2003 to 2008. He was also a Non-Executive Director of Brixton plc from 2006 to 2009.

External appointments: Non-Executive Director of Mondi plc

D.F. Landless, 53 l Group Finance Director (right)

Appointed: March 1999

Committees: Executive

Qualifications: Chartered Management Accountant, graduated from the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology.

Experience: Started his career with Bowater and Carrington Viyella and joined Courtaulds plc in 1984. Appointed a Finance Director in UK and US divisions of Courtaulds plc from 1989 to 1997 and Finance Director of Courtaulds Coatings (Holdings) Limited from 1997 to 1999.

External appointments: None.

Non-Executive Directors

A.M. Thomson, 66 l Chairman (left)

Appointed: December 2007

Committees: Nomination (Chairman) and Remuneration

Qualifications: Chartered Accountant, graduated from Glasgow University with a Masters degree.

Experience: Worked on a variety of audits for Arthur Andersen and Price Waterhouse, followed by senior management positions with Rockwell International plc, Raychem Ltd and Courtaulds plc. Joined Rugby Group plc as a Finance Director from 1992 to 1995 followed by Smiths Group plc from 1995 to 2006. He was also a Non-Executive Director of Johnson Matthey from 2002 to 2011. Past President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland.

External appointments: Chairman of Hays PLC and Hamsard 3054 Ltd (Polypipe) and Non-Executive Director of Alstom SA.

(pictured left to right)

J.A. Biles, 65 l Senior Independent Director (appointed as SID on 1 May 2012)

Appointed: August 2007

Committees: Audit (Chairman), Remuneration and Nomination

Qualifications: Chartered Accountant, graduated from Exeter University in Chemistry and Physics. Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, having qualified with Price Waterhouse in London.

Experience: Worked on a variety of audits and M&A activities at Price Waterhouse in his early career, followed by 5 years at EMI plc. In 1981 he joined Racal Electronics plc and held three successive financial director roles in defence and energy electronics. Appointed Group Finance Director of Chubb Security PLC in 1991 in its demerger from Racal. He then joined FKI plc, the engineering group, as Finance Director in 1998 where he remained until 2004. From 2004 until 2008 he joined ArmorGroup International plc as Non-Executive Director and from 2005 to 2012 Charter International plc, from 2005 to 2011 Hermes Fund Managers Limited and Northern Ireland Electricity plc (Previously Viridian Group plc) from 2005 to 2011.

External appointments: Non-Executive Director of Sutton & East Surrey Water plc since 2006.

E. Lindqvist, 55 l Non-Executive Director

Appointed: June 2012

Committees: Remuneration (Chair appointed 14 December 2012), Audit and Nomination

Qualifications: Engineer, graduated with a Masters from Linköping Institute of Technology, Diploma in Marketing from IHM Business School and MBA Financial Analysis from University of Melbourne.

Experience: Began her career in various positions with Ericsson working in Continental Europe, North America and Asia from 1981 to 1990 followed by Director roles with Ericsson from 1993 to 1999. Joined Teliasonera in 2000 as Senior Vice President moving to Xelerated as Chief Executive from 2007 to 2011.

External appointments: Appointed as Non-Executive Director of Assa Abloy AB in 2008, Tieto Corporation from 2010, Transmode Holdings AB as of 2007, Innovationsbron since 2007, Blekinge Institute of Technology from 2010 and Episerver in 2011.

K. Rajagopal, 59 l Non-Executive Director

Appointed: September 2008

Committees: Audit, Remuneration and Nomination

Qualifications: A Chartered Mechanical Engineer, graduated with a B Tech (Mechanical Engineering) from IIT, Madras, India, followed by an MSc and PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Manchester and was awarded an honorary doctor of science degree by Cranfield University. A Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) and the Institution of Mechanical Engineers.

Experience: Joined BOC Edwards after obtaining his PhD and worked in various positions in operations management including Operations Director. Promoted to Managing Director of Edwards in 1993 and Chief Executive of BOC Edwards in 1996. Appointed Executive Director of BOC Group plc in 2000 until 2006. Past member of UK Council for Science and Technology and the Audit Commission. He was Non-Executive Director of Foseco plc from 2005 until 2008 and FSI International (a NASDAQ company) 2000 to 2005.

External appointments: Chairman of UMC3 since 2010 and of HHV Pumps Ltd since 2009. Non-Executive Director of W.S. Atkins plc since 2008, Spirax-Sarco Engineering plc from 2009 and E2V Technologies PLC from 2010.

J. Vogelsang, 70 l Senior Independent Director (resigned as SID on 30 April 2012)

Appointed: January 2003

Committees: Remuneration (Chairman until 31 December 2012)

Qualifications: Chemical Engineer, graduated from the Technical University of Delft, Netherlands, with a Masters degree.

Experience: Commenced his career as Royal (Dutch) Air Force Reserve Officer from 1966 to 1968. From 1968 to 1984 he worked in various manufacturing, sales, marketing and business positions for Shell Companies in the Benelux, appointed General Manager for Shell Chemicals in Norden in 1984. Promoted in 1988 to Vice President of Shell Chemicals International Trading Company and Head of Speciality Chemicals of Shell International Chemicals Company, based in London, assuming the responsibility of Chief Executive for the Shell Companies in Sweden in 1992 before becoming Vice-President Shell Chemical Europe and Africa in 1994. President of Montell Polyolefins Europe from 1999 and President of Technology at Basell Polyolefins from 2001 to 2002.

External appointments: Non-Executive Director of Metex SA.

U.S. Ball l Group Company Secretary

Springwood Court, Springwood Close, Tytherington Business Park, Macclesfield, Cheshire SK10 2XF.

Tel: +44 (0)1625 505300 Fax: +44 (0)1625 505313.

Registered Number 519057 England and Wales.